Full disclosure

During the past day, since deciding to actually enter the world of blogging, I’ve been struggling with my presence here, weird as that sounds. The thing is, I work on the news desk (editing copy and laying out pages) for a mid-sized daily newspaper in Canada: The Saskatoon StarPhoenix, a Canwest-owned paper. And I’ve decided to write a blog about the changing face of the media. Can I do this without writing about my own paper, because of the inherent conflicts? We’ll see. I’ll certainly be open to hearing what anyone else thinks about The StarPhoenix, or Canwest, and will likely be posting links up with news (because there’s been a lot of that lately, on Canwest), but will be refraining from posting my own comments on that bag of worms, for now at least.

But I will say this: I’m very proud to work for The StarPhoenix. We’re not perfect, by any stretch of the imagination, and we’ve still got a lot of work to do to adjust to the realities of being a news organization as the Internet moves into 3.0 territory (whilst functioning under the constraints imposed by our parent company’s struggles), but there are a lot of people who want to see that happen. Especially me.

In the meantime, here are some links to stories I’ve recently written (I’ve never really tried linking before but I hope it works!):

A preview of a Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra performance (which I also reviewed, scary, that, my first symphony review!)

A feature on a former Saskatoon-area businessman who is now involved with Opportunity International, a Canadian organization that provides micro-finance loans in developing countries.

My Q&A with Saskatoon businessperson Vaughn Wyant for the latest issue of Saskatoon Business, a magazine published by The StarPhoenix.

0 Responses to “Full disclosure”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Or subscribe to my feed:

Undeadjournalist

Days of This Life

March 2009
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


